Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Japanese Sword opinion please

Hallo,
    I am no expert and can not make up my mind about this one.
    Can you please share your opinion beside the condition (some of the ray skin seems to be broken) ?

The tsuba does not looks very refined . Is it a poor "later war" piece or a copy ?

The cap/kashira does not seem to be of good quality . Same question , is it a "later war" variant or an out-right fake ?

Many thanks for your views ,

Hi Yves,

All looks OK to me and I'd say that the tsuba is a later manufactured piece as it lacks the quality of finish one associates with the earlier pierced brass tsuba.

If you wish help with the kanji you will need to display them vertically in a photo with the uppermost kanji being the one closest to the tip of the sword. These are read from top to bottom. I'll attach a photo of one for clarification.

Regards,
    Stu
    Attached Files

Comment

bits of mei

look like Murayoshi.....maybe starts with Noshu Seki hard to read standing on my head.

Comment

Originally posted by sturmann View Post
        Hallo,
        The tsuba does not looks very refined . Is it a poor "later war" piece or a copy ?
        A "late war" sword would be in Model 1944 mounts
        http://home.earthlink.net/~steinrl/military.htm

Comment

Originally posted by Papa Nambu View Post
          A "late war" sword would be in Model 1944 mounts
          http://home.earthlink.net/~steinrl/military.htm
          Hi Ted,

I agree with you on that. To be clear, when I used the term "later" I meant in the early 1940s. Prior to that, from 1934 onward, I would expect to see the quality cut out type tsuba. Anything from 1944 and 1945 are definitely "late" war and quite different in appearance. I'll add a pic here to clarify.

Regards,
          Stu
          Attached Files

Comment

They never were named type 44 but san shiki type 3

Comment

Originally posted by NLF View Post
              Hi NLF,