Clear All

Opinion on helmet and canteen

Please some opinion about this group :

http://www.ebay.com/itm/RARE-IWO-JIM...item4ab7f0f20c

Thanks per advance

i am not an expert, but i think it is a good set,combat condition

greetings bruno

Comment

Thanks, but what about this Iwo Jima inscription????

Comment

It's pretty much impossible to tell when the inscription was added.
        As they always say: buy the object, not the story

Comment

I know that but.....

Comment

But what?
            I don't think anyone here can tell you that the helmet came from Iwo. The inscription is what it is: the vet might have written it when he picked the helmet up on Iwo; the vet might have written it when he picked the helmet up off some other island and thought Iwo sounded better; the vet might have written it after he purchased it off a sailor; the vet might have written it after he got home; the vets kids might have written that based on dads stories; the vets kids might have written it because it sounded neater that dad picked it up on Iwo rather than in Japan; the vets kids might have written Iwo because they figured it would bring in more money when they sold it; the seller might have written Iwo thinking it would boost the price....

Take your pick.
            Or did you have another question? I don't think anyone can get any more specific than this.

Comment

You are right about all you say, my question was about a possible "red flag" concerning a very modern inscription, it's why after your first answere I wrought this "but" !

Comment

ahhhh.....understood!

Comment

iwo helmet