EBAY: The good, the bad and the Ugly.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EBAY: The good, the bad and the Ugly.

I have been studying Japan and Asia for years, but I am new to collecting. I have already made a few bad mistakes, and have made one or two good deals. Anyways, I was wondering if people could share their experiances with different famous ebay sellers who they have had good experiances with (sells legit stuff) and bad sellers (those that sell suspicious/fakes).

So far, I've learned my lesson with the infamous Cupman3 (luckly paypal sided with me).

I've dealt with Dragon2dragon, who sells Japanese militaria from Kyoto and is super kind and has some good hats sometimes. Also, gunjinantiques seemed pretty good.

Thank you for all opinions.

do a search on the forums. cupman is the worse of them, with obviously fraudulent items. best bet is to know a lot before you buy. even the "good" ebay sellers can mislabel something. and good research helps to discern when so-called experts misrepresent items that fall in to gray areas to boost prices towards the high end prices for established rare items. although even the shady sellers sometimes do offer up genuine items for a decent price, you'll sleep better if you buy from someone you trust, and that is usually built upon several past dealings.

glad to hear paypal righted your wrong. on the flip side, a fellow collector recently lamented to me how he's worried paypal will take away the funds after someone who knows better decided he didn't want the item anymore, and told paypal the item wasn't geniune. hopefully he'll at least get the item back before paypal pulls the funds. I guess selling to good people is also a good rule.

Comment

Thanks. It seems that good things are said about Bannjyou. I'm curious if anyone has an opinion on:

koro-koro1
      senndatunouta
      waterbobby2

Comment