Hi,
    I am planing to bid on the following swords on e-bay

Please let me have your opinion, if they are real WW-2 items

WWII Japanese Army Officers Sword signed & dated
    Item number: 65 44 763 966

WWII Japanese Naval Officer Dress Sword
    Item Number 65 44 740 668

Looking forward to your opinions

If they are real WWII items, what is a reasonable price for each of them.

Bye
    Michael

Ebay Swords

Hi Michael,

While I am far from an expert on Japanese swords, I have owned and handled quite a few and still have a respectable number.

I don't blame you for wanting to add one to your collection, however, I'm not sure you want to commit much money to the officer model pictured on ebay. The seller mentions that the pitting is not severe, based upon the pictures I would have to disagree. The blade is rough and "tired" with numerous stains and dark areas. He also mentions nicks in the blade.

I see nothing to make me feel it is not a legitimate WWII era piece. However, if you can afford it, much better swords are out there. I have bought some great swords in the last few years in the $500-$600 range.

On the 2nd sword, I see no basis for the claim that it is naval. If I am incorrect here, members, please let me know. I think it is a standard "parade" type sword brought home in large numbers after the war probably during the occupation as these would not have seen combat. The naval version has always had a leather and brass scabbard in addition to markings identifying it as such.

Over the years, I have seen excellent examples of the type pictured here at shows for around $125, but they are slow movers.

I hope my comments were some help. If you decide to proceed with bidding, just don't go overboard on the amount you commit. You'll probably regret it later when the opportunity for a really nice piece comes along.

Good collecting,

William

Comment