Austrian Helmet

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Austrian Helmet

I'd like to share this helmet with the forum. My grandfather brought this back when he returned from France after WW1. He served with the 160th. I am told he brought back two along with his own helmet. I only remember this one as I now kick myself for playing with it as a child. When I played with it, the liner was perfect. Not so much anymore. I also used masking tape when I was a kid to make a German national shield on the right side. Good thing I never painted it, but it did leave residue on the helmet that seems permanent. Anyway, just wanted to share this.

BTW, as I am no expert on these helmets, I am told the shield on the back was to identify friendlies on the front lines from troops further back.

Nice helmet! Too bad about the liner. It's rare to know what caused what to the liners.

W.

Comment

Danny;
      Can we see more of the back of the helmet the white Shield?
      I have never seen such a shield painted on the back of a German helmet.
      Jerry

Comment

As requested. Here are some more photos. You can see the faint outline of the shield I applied with masking tape as a kid.

Comment

still a very nice helmet, specially because it's from your grandfather.
          I believe you're right about the white shield, i think i've heard the same explanation once.

Comment

I don't recall ever seeing a shield like that on the back of one of these before. Just makes it more unique and interesting.

Comment

Originally posted by MauserKar98k View Post
              I don't recall ever seeing a shield like that on the back of one of these before. Just makes it more unique and interesting.
              Nor have I... Anyone have any documentation/Information of the subject of the shield? Nice helmet.

Chuck

Comment

/

Danny,