Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1870 Iron Cross from Estate sale!

Hello,
    This is a badge / pin that I picked up at a local estate sale. I don't collect this type of stuff, but thought it was a neat piece so I bought it. A fellow member offered to add photos. Thank you.

Here are pictures of Mark's cross --
    Attached Files

Comment

and ---
      Attached Files

Comment

more -
        Attached Files

Comment

I'm almost certain this is a copy; however, I am not an expert in this area of collecting. The crown seems to be off for a J.Wagner & S. 14 Loth.

Comment

WOW, 80 people have viewed this thread but only one reply.

It must be because of the holiday weekend. IMO this is a textbook example
            of a Wagner 1st class cross.

Comment

Originally posted by gregM View Post
              WOW, 80 people have viewed this thread but only one reply.

It must be because of the holiday weekend. IMO this is a textbook example
              of a Wagner 1st class cross.
              Very possible, I do like the pin and the hallmark. The new pics do make the crown appear better.

Comment

Perfect original piece in excellent condition.

This is not one of Wagner's common pins but I've seen others like it before. I think their early award-type needle pins started breaking and they experimented a bit before settling on the second pin type, show below:

K147646_2.jpg

It could also be a replaced pin added when the original needle pin broke, as so many did. Finding an original award-type with an unbroken needle-pin is extremely difficult.

Anyway, this is a fine example of a Wagner 1870 EK1, and very valuable.
                Best regards,
                Streptile

Looking for ROUND BUTTON 1939 EK1 Spange cases (LDO or PKZ)

Comment

Originally posted by MontanaBoy View Post
                  Hello,