Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1870 EK Fakes

From Detlev Niemann:

Thank you. Pretty scary, except for a couple of obvious faults (which will go unmentioned in case some "craftsman" is reading. Any background info on these?

Comment

Screwed

Doug,

As I am new to the hobby I have been trying to educate myself before dropping too much coin. I go to Niemann's site every Friday to see what he has and what new fake he has uncovered. This one made me just say, "We are screwed." Eventually I fear the craft of forgery will be unmanageable for us. No further info, though I am sure Detlev would entertain some e-mail.
      Regards
      Marc-

Comment

Of particular interest to me was the fact that...

A) The Full Size EK1 (above) with the side hooks marked 'GODET' bears exactly the same maker mark (but not the same core) as the ONLY pictured 'GODET' in the IRON TIME (page 111).....and...

B) The Prinzen EK1 above marked with Crown and Moon is a match for the 'lavishly stamped' I Wagner marked Prinzen in - you guessed it - the Iron Time (page 117)

Detlev describes these as 'post war made top quality 'COPIES' not made during the time of official award.....'

It's a little ambiguous.......and I don't like my chances of getting a reply directly from Detlev at 4 o'cock on a Friday....but I would hate anyone else reading to confuse 'copy' with later 'private purchase' ......

So before I write-off this particular 'Godet' maker mark, is anyone close to Detlev able to clarify for me whether this means he feels they are merely later issue (post-Jubilee) made pieces, or outright recent fakes....I was under the impression the Previtera 'Godet' was a later issue piece....

I'm also interested in hearing from any other 70 EK1 Godet owners out there (excluding my friend Tony-Tiger1 who has been more than helpful to me..) who can shed light on the elusive Godet EK1.

Please, big guys, I don't bite, and we can do it by PM or E-mail if necessary...

Regards

Marshall