1/4" ek2 1914- purpose?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

1/4" ek2 1914- purpose?

this 10mm 3-part cross came with an apparently correctly-sized ribbon. as it's not for a stickpin, is the purpose to dangle from a 'ketrte' as worn on civilian clothes or what? thanks.

sorry must resize pix....

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

From what I understand there were little regulation on the manufacture and wear in the time before the 3rd reich, it may have been worn for the reason you stated or many others I would think. There may not have been a specific regulation in regard to wear on this item. Of course I am no expert and we can see what others say.
          Looks pretty nice though, I am not to fond of the ribbon, may be also used for the minature medal chains which would not have had a ribbon, possibly fake ribbon.
          Dave

Comment

On closer look of ribbon it may be period though probably used for ribbon lapel bows and I still think possibly the cross was used on the chains. I do not believe the ribbon goes with the cross.

Comment

Attached Files

Comment

thanks - btw the cross is magnetic and, again, it's s a 2-piece silver (?) frame.

Comment

I will let someone more knowledgeable on ribbons to comment on authenticity, but as new/mint as it looks, it doesn't match the patina/wear on the cross.
                  The cross being as small as it is may be the device that hangs on the button whole ribbon.
                  Dave

Comment

sorry earlier I mean 'kette' the chain that sometimes supported minis like this.... if it was for a buttonhole I'd guess the reverse would be blank b/c you wouldn't see it...
                    I can't find this in 'The Iron Time' st. previtara's EK book (1999).

Comment

Originally posted by inimicus View Post