Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

thanks Rick!

Hi Rick,
    many thanks for your reply.Here is some of the info that i have so far:Otto Rosswog,born 1st September 1891in Emmendingen(?)Catholic,salesman by trade.Joined Feld-Artillerie-Regiment,Konig Karl(1.W)Nr.13 8(F) Batterie. Also listed is an entry which i was hoping you could help me with! Tagdes eintrittsin das stehende heer am 17/8/14.Awarded EK2 23/9/16.
    Another entry which i don't understand states:Ausgefertigt(long 'f' type letter,presuming it is 'f' or is it 's'?! and Im Felde 22 Februar 1918.
    There are lots of entries marked with the date 18/3/1918,and stamps at the side of these,including,Reserve Lazarett 1 Leipzig.Also on the militarpass the rank of unteroffizier has been crossed out and something which looks like Vizewachtenmeister,VR has been written in its place.
    Also one more thing,then i'll leave you in peace!There is a list stuck into the militarpass with what looks like battles on it and dates, eg,21/11/1916 to 26/11/1916 Schlacht an der Somme.There is a line drawn through 1/8 to 3/8/1915,Schlacht bei Cholm,and the line continues diagonally upwards through the previous battles,what does this mean?
    Sorry to be a burden,but you're the only man i know who can help!
    Many thanks and kind regards,
    yorkie

Aha! A Wu"rttemberger! I think you will find that with his 1914 entry it will say he was a "Kriegsfreiwilliger" or "War Volunteer." That would be consistent with being an Unteroffizier and then jumping a rank to Vizewachtmeister (probably --->) der Reserve.