Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WWI Soldbch & Militarpas

Hi,

I have just received in the post today a WWI solbuch and Miliarpas, I have little to no knowledge on these, please could someone tell on which pages you find what (awards etc) also which are the most inportant pages.

Lastly where can I research WWI German Infantry Regiments as the owner of the books served in IR 126 & IR 180

Any help at all would be great,

Regards
    Phil

Both are Württemberg regiments.

For basic info on the regiments, try A Pocket German Army .

Dave

Comment

Thanks Dave,

What is a Württemberg regiment? does it mean non combatant?

Regards
      Phil

Comment

Württemberg was a Kingdom in southern Germany between the Grand Duchy of Baden and the Kingdom of Bavaria.

Soldbuch:

Page 1:

1) are the first names , family name, birthdate, birthplace, district, and state of birth.

2) is occupation and names of father and home town

3) soldier's religion, normally abbreviated "ev." for Protestant and "kath." for Catholic.

4) civil occupation of soldier

5) married since, wife's name, hometown, and number of children.

Page 2:

6) Date and unit originally called up into

7) "Is Holder of the following Orders & Decorations:"

Militärpaß:

Page 1:

1) Names, birthdate and place as above

2) Civilian occupation

3) Religion

4) whether married (yes or no) and number of children

5) Date of induction and as what (volunteer, draftee, etc etc)

6) Unit of Induction

Page 2:

transfers, promotions continued from above

7) Date and type of discharge

Page 3:

8) Discharge unit, unit roll number, height

9) Orders and Decorations

10) Campaigns and wounds

THAT is where WW1 books usually break down and you will find ALL sorts of pages stuck in (often out of order) showing EXACT participation in battles ("mitgemachte Gefechten") which are either handwritten in on each page's unit in-unit out conduct report, or glued in from small fold out printed lists.