Army Film and Photographic Unit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Army Film and Photographic Unit

I invite the jury for opinions on this one please!

Thanks in advance, from Jack

Reverse.

Comment

Hi Jack, as you know this is a hard to find peice of insignia. My reservation would be the unusual cloth that it is printed on. I cannot say I have ever seen it before? I am not saying it is wrong, just different. That is enough to make me wary.

Is this one you have bought or just thinking of buying?

Cheers, Ade.

Comment

Hi Jack,

I stick with Ade, it is a bit strange but I'm no expert.
        Reproductions are being made of this badge; I haven't got a picture of such repro so I can't compare, sorry!
        Cheers, Luc

Comment

Thanks for that Ade. I too thought the material was unusual and everytime I think of it it raises my suspicion. I bought this on the possibility it might be an original one but I really hadn't a clue. There is a plus side though because the collection of badges this was in were all original and I am 99% sure that there is a similar one in the Hartenstein! I have a photo somewhere hopefully Have you seen the one in there? It's on the wall by the SS insignia! Still, these two things mean nothing and the odds are stacked against it IMO.

Thanks, from Jack.

Comment

Hi Luc, thanks also!

I have seen some reproductions but these have been very obvious ones such as the Paki made ones sold by petehal1 etc. Have you seen any others?

Cheers!

Comment

Hi Jack, like you say if it came with all good stuff it tends to make you think it might be OK.. But of course it really makes no odds!

I can recall seeing one in the Hartenstien, but not the detail about it. Trouble is they do have some bad German stuff in there insignia wise.