Boer War pair with bar

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Boer War pair with bar

Hi all. Been asked by a colleague in work to research his great, great grandfathers Boer War medals of which I attached some pictures. This is an area that I have no knowledge whatsoever and call on the WAF community to help me help him. Both the medals are engraved as follows

" PC AMY AB HMS TERPSICHORE"

And the second medal has the bar

"JUBALAND"

I don't know if these are long service or campaign medals (although I assume the second one is with the bar) and wonder whether anyone can firstly identify the medals and secondly give any history of the ship and any actions/involvement it was in. Although these medals are not for sale (as family heirlooms) and indication of retail value (for insurance purposes) would be appreciated.

Many thanks in advance for your endevours.

Regards as always

Paul

Having trouble loading pics - hopefully will follow soon.

Comment

Hello,

PM me with details and I may be able to help

Comment

Got it
        Attached Files

Comment

haha I would gladly buy those if for sale, wonderful set

Comment

lovely pair

It's a nice Royal Navy pair: Queens South Africa Medal (no bar)/Africa General Service Medal (Jubaland) for operations against the Ogaden Somalis Oct 16, 1900-April 30, 1901.

Comment

Could you post a picture of the Africa naming please?

Cheers Adam

Comment

Philip C Amy born Grouville, Jersey, Channel Islands. Served 1900 to 1910 entitled to Queens South Africa with clasps Cape Colony and South Africa 1901. So the medal is missing the bars, does it look as if the bars have been removed?

Roll confirms entitlement to the Africa General Service Medal with Jubaland bar.

Issues with the medals, bar's missing from the Queens South Africa, ever added? removed? 273 Queens South Africa Medal awarded to this ship, 136 without clasps