para smock?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

para smock?

have been offered this smock,is it a british para smock? and if so what kind of value are they,rgds dave
    Attached Files

p

Attached Files

Comment

p

Attached Files

Comment

p

Attached Files

Comment

Hi Scrooge,

That is a camouflage Windproof Smock, there are also matching trousers to go with it. It is sometimes seen described as an SAS smock. This example has been modified with a zip. The price I'm not sure, maybe a couple of hundred pounds.

francie.

Comment

p

thanks francie the seller said it was sas but i thought he was just saying that to make it more desirable,rgds dave

Comment

Hi Dave

I am not a huge expert on these jackets/trousers. In my understanding it is because they had been worn by SAS troops on occasion that this is used to sex them up a little, as this was not who primarily wore them.

Not too sure on the price of jackets but am assured they are rarer then the trousers.

The trousers, mint, will set you back around 100 quid and are more frequently seen than the jackets.

As I say I am no expert, although I would love one of these to go into my Indochine collection.

regards

Comment

Also if that is a zip I see then I think this is a modification to the jacket for ease of wear.

Comment

Just to add to this,

the addition of the zip does undermine the value of the smock to a WW2 collector by a fair margin.

The "SAS" moniker is an irritating delaer device also....

Patrick.

Comment

p

hi, i have now lost it i was the under bidder on ebay but the winner failed to pay so was given a 2nd chance and agreed on £80 ,but got in this morning and had an email from seller stating that origional winner had now paid in full, oh well it was nice while it lasted, rgds dave

Comment

p

sorry i got the white screen,and double posted

Comment