A fine Group Of Medals to a Fine Man!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just having a look through my picture archive, and thought I would treat you to a, well rather interesting man.
    I'm sure most of you know my area is medals, but I'm just getting into the British Airborne game, just under a year now, as well as being in & out of German bits as well.

Anyway on with the story

Brigadier General, William Fletcher Clemson.
    "Attested for service with the York & Lancaster Regiment, as 2nd Lieutenant in16th November 1887.
    Born, 31.3.1866; (Bolton)
    Lieutenant 12.2.1890;
    Captain 10.5.1899;
    Adjutant 1900-1904;
    Major 3.10.1906;
    Lieutenant Colonel 25.4.1915;
    Colonel 25.4.1919;
    Brigadier General 4.11.1916, 29.9.15-20.6.18;

At the outbreak of war, he was a Major with the 2/York & Lancaster Regiment (second In Command), arrived in September 1914 (16th Brigade,6th Division), took part in the fighting at Ypres, Armentieres in late 1914.
    With the CO Lieut Col E.C. Cobbold duties needed at a higher level, Clemson in late 1914 was now in overall command of the Battalion (Lieutenant Colonel 1915) this is the way it stayed until he him self was needed to command a Brigade due to the high number of casualties among senior officers as well as the more & more units being formed back in England.
    So in September 1915 he was assigned to the 124th Infantry Brigade, (which consisted of the following -

10th (Service) Bn, the Queen's (joined June 1915)
    26th (Service) Bn, the Royal Fusiliers
    32nd (Service) Bn, the Royal Fusiliers
    21st (Service) Bn (Yeomen Rifles), the King's Royal Rifle Corps
    20th (Service) Bn (Wearside),
    124th Brigade Machine Gun Company
    124th Trench Mortar Battery

With the usual trench activity from late 1915 to early to mid 1916, Clemson remained in command.