Emedals - Medalbook

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Polish 62 Infantry Regimant badge, Good?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Polish 62 Infantry Regimant badge, Good?

I had this badge offered to me for 45 US dollars.

http://img276.imageshack.us/img276/6276/img38606qc.jpg

http://img276.imageshack.us/img276/7338/img38624yi.jpg

http://img276.imageshack.us/img276/3817/img38631uo.jpg

Is it a good one for a good price?

No comments?

Comment

Well ..

A couple of things ...

Most pre-war Polish badges you would expect to see a three figure number stamped into the back.
      .. By the pictures, the quality of the back (edges) looks a little rough.

I would be a little suspicious of the badge, .. but I'm no expert on the pre-war badges.

.. Was there a spinner with the badge ?

Gary J.

Comment

No, It's missing the spinner sadly

Comment

Spinner

Originally posted by Para82nd
          No, It's missing the spinner sadly
          The spinner can tell you a lot .. either way !!
          .. I'm always a little suspect of Polish Regimental badges without spinners, unless there's 100% provenance with the badge.
          It's too easy for a "Pansiuk" to have a spinner removed to help "muddy the water".

Regards

Gary J.

Comment

Hello Para82nd,

I agree with everything that Gary stated, and will add the following.

This is an enameled officer’s version, and as such would likely have been serial numbered as Gary mentioned. The absence of stamped numbering is suspicious, although not a conclusive indicator of authenticity.

The officer’s version of the 62nd Infantry Regiment badge was originally produced as two piece construction – as this one appears to be. However, the majority of pre-war Polish multi-part badges utilized rivets or small wire studs to hold the individual components together. This one is assembled in the manner of post war reproductions.