Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SOE-agents in uniforms?

Hi everyone

Here is a photo showing four known danish SOE-agents as leutenants in the General Service Corps. The picture is taken just after the liberation in may 1945. My knowlegde about brittish regiments is quite limited but I understand that this regiment was for unassigned personel or what? Could someone tell me why these are assigned to the G.S.C. and not the BUFFS, where the danes usually were?

All help is welcome

All the best

Thomas
    Attached Files

SOE photo

Hello,

SOE- Special Operations Executive

These were the guys who went behind the lines and did all of the covert stuff to mess with the Germans.

I am no expert but I think that they were given the general service badges just to give them a "fake" unit tobelong to. I don't think that there was a SOE cap badge because it would have been a pretty good indicator of who to go after.

I hope this helps.

Cam

Comment

SOE Question

Hi Thomas

Very nice image. Thanks for posting it. All members of SOE had a choice for insignia. You could wear the insignia of the General List or your parent units insignia. They say this was in order to be inconspicuous. Many women were encouraged to wear uniforms of the womens airforce, the FANY or other female services in the UK. I have a picture of a female SOE wearing an RCAF uniform and she was British and never in the airforce. It must be remembered that SOE was not a traditional military organization, it was under the auspices of the Minister of Economic Warfare.