New to the hobby needs help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to the hobby needs help

Hi. I am new to the hobby and i really enjoy it. But i need some more knowledge regarding ww2 german medals and badges. I have recently received Robin Lumsdens book Detecting the Fakes and i really liked it. If you know books that descride ALL medals(history,construction,achievements needed to be issued etc) of the third reich era plz tell me. Could you also plz tell me how to undestand if a medal is made of zinc or other kinds of metal?Thanks for any help.

I do not believe there is a single book out there to fill your request.

For Fuhrer and Fatherland is an old standard but has some limitations. You'd be better off picking a "badge" and purchasing a concise book on that single award.

Comment

As said, there are tons of references. One that I like is the Detlev Niemann price guide. It has examples and variations. A good one to quickly look over hardware and such of manufacturers and it gives a pretty accurate description and a current price for the items. Many dealers use his book as a refrence as far as pricing.

Robin's books are nice. Gordon Williamson, John Angolia, Christopher Alisby are good.

[U]A Collector's Guide to: World War 2 German Medals and Political Awards[U] By Christopher Ailsby is a great start and a good starting place as you find your specialized niche.

Best of luck. Seems like you found the forums. These people are very helpful and many will help steer you in the right direction as far as genuine and authentic vs. forgery or cast fake.

2dresq907

Comment

Thank you quys. Will check the books you mentioned.

Comment

Robin's book was good when it came out but (I'm sure he won't mind me saying) it is a little outdated now. Still a useful book to own but doesn't cover the quality of fakes out there now. Saying that though, Robin writes some great SS reference books.