Off to Hungary

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Off to Hungary

I just received the good news that I'm off to Budapest in two weeks. This is my first time in the city and I haven't yet picked up a tour book. Can anyone recommend sites in the area of a military interest? Of course, the Citadel and Castle are at the top of my list, but I'd like to hear from some members about other sites.

Also, any information on local beer and wine is always welcome. Especially by my wife who may not appreciate touring a rainy battlefield with me.

Lastly, I will have a few days of spare time and I am working on a small project. The "Then and Now" type of photographic comparisons have always intrigued me and I have taken a number throughout Austria and Bavaria, i.e. Floridsdorfer Bridge in '45 and '04 for example. If any forum member wants to send an identifiable pic of Budapest during the war, I will endeavor to take a similar pic for comparison and post it here for what may be an interesting post. Credit will be given to the owner of the picture and you can either post it here or email it to me. I'll try to incorporate a few Danube hotties in the pics as well.

Thanks in advance,

Mike
    mjc@westmorelandresearch.org

Hello.

(Military) Army Museum in Budapest. Not big, exshibitions about ww1, paratropers, Hungarian troops on east front. Some artilery close to the building. (Nice skoda 105mm)
    Eger - castle on the top of the hill, possible to visit underground part. Quite nice. Wine is 2 times more expensive in the caste area than in town. (famous "Egribikaver).

mietek

Comment

Hungary

Hungary is a really nice country to visit! I've been to Budapest two years in a row now. Its avery beautiful and pleasent town with lots of culture!