Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

K98 combat bayonet question.

Quick one:

I have a K98 bayonet with a blade that has never been sharp.
    It's impossible to cut yourself on this one.

What do I think of this?

Thanks,
    Pierre

Thankgoodness

Thank goodness that It had not been sharpened.. Collectors want them unsharpened and matching...They were not a knife but a bayonet for a stabbing thrust into the enemy.....BILL

Comment

Thanks! Sorry for sounding like a dumbass, I have very little experience of bayonets.

I really expected some kind of factory sharpening pre the blueing process, seeing as the blade is shaped like a knife and not a spike bayonet.

I suppose this could explain why the blade is in so much better shape than the rest of the bayonet. The poor landser lugged it around but never had use for it!

I'll post pictures once my I get my camera up and running.
      The bayonet and scabbard do have matching numbers.

Thanks again,
      Pierre

Comment

Originally posted by Schick
        Thanks! Sorry for sounding like a dumbass, I have very little experience of bayonets.

I really expected some kind of factory sharpening pre the blueing process, seeing as the blade is shaped like a knife and not a spike bayonet.

I suppose this could explain why the blade is in so much better shape than the rest of the bayonet. The poor landser lugged it around but never had use for it!

I'll post pictures once my I get my camera up and running.
        The bayonet and scabbard do have matching numbers.

Thanks again,
        Pierre
        Sounds like a nice bayonet
        Regards Lassi

Comment