This is a genuine enquiry

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

This is a genuine enquiry

This is a serious question, not meant to be sarcastic or delivered lightly and I hope it encourages some debate.
    I have been a collector and researcher of photos for many years. My main interest is in senior personalities of the SS. What I cannot understand is why so many people are interested in photos of anonymous people, vehicles and what I term as "bombs and bullets" shots. I can understand interest in unusual uniform/insignia images, but I see so many photos of everyday common soldiers which are always obtainable even at local militaria fairs. I am interested in my field because there is identifiable history involved, but what is it that interests people in photos of "Fritz Bloggs" and his mates posing for a photo in a field?
    I realise that the saying "each to his own" is applicable and I respect everone's own right to collect whatever he/she likes, but as I say, this is a genuine question and I'm sure some of my fellow collectors have some good reasons.
    Max.

Max,

I really like your question.In my case,I have been a collector for 37 years now,man and boy,mostly civil and political cloth and photos.I love to find photos of pieces I have "in wear" no matter how common.Like you I give priority to historical photos.However,that old saw "A picture is worth a thousand words" comes into effect.I have seen photos I would not give a penny for,but another collector may "see" more in it than I do and visa versa.To me all photos are history,some are just more intersting than others.

Brad

Comment

just to quote a line on your thread: "I am interested in my field because there is identifiable history involved". one of the many definitions that can be found on the dictionary for the word history is, "a narrative of events"