Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Royal Norfolks in Korea

Hi,
    I'm new to this part of the forum, but I have ventured on here as I have volunteered to research my wife's uncles military history for her father.
    Her uncle served in the Royal Norfolk Regiment and was killed in action in Korea in 1952.
    I am looking for more information about their activtities and locations in Korea and in particular looking for information regarding their part in a battle for hill 118.
    Any information would be great!
    Many thanks,
    lynton.

The Regimental Museum website has very little on the regiments service in Korea. The main is losses in the war and many decorations. Sorry to be of so little help.
    Jim

Comment

Well, over 2 years since I first posted this thread, I have now aquired quite a large amount of information on my Wifes uncle and the action on Hill 118 in Korea in which he lost his life.

After drawing blanks from the internet, I sent a letter into the local news paper looking for veterans of the Royal Norfolk Regiment who had served in Korea.
      To my pleasure, we had replies from several veterans who provided information, but sadly none of these knew Noel directly, or any members of his Company that were in the Veterans association.

All help was greatfully recieved and I chatted with some of the veterans over the phone and one veteran ( the Chairman of the Veterans Association) in particular sent us a copy of an article that was written in the Britannia and Castle (Regimental Magazine) about the action at Hill 118 shortly after it happened.

He has also offered his assitance in working out where and when Noel was trained and posted to before Korea from his military records that we now have.

I will now endeavor to post some photos and information that I have gained for you all, as after researching this for the family, it has shown that Korea is indeed a sadly forgotten conflict.

I hope you enjoy this post.

Comment