Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shoulder strap loops.

Ahoy Gents,
    I'm a complete BW noob so please can can someone explain the purpose of the coloured sholder strap loops and what the different colours mean, platoon, branch? I have a moleskin jacket which came with blue loops.

Sorry that I need more guidance,
    Regards,
    Phil.
    Last edited by Charlie_Brown; 04-19-2010, 11:23 AM.

The loops on field uniform ("Litzen" in German, not to confuse with old name for collar tabs) designate Truppengattung (troop unit type). They will match "Waffenfarbe" on service uniform shoulderboards. All infantry units for example are green and artillery red.

There are two colours of blue:
    dark blue = Sanitätstruppe (medical service)
    light blue = Technische Truppen (technical troops)

The left column are all Waffenfarben the Bw (found on modelling site):
    http://autoflaggen.de/bw/bw_allg_wafarben.htm

regards
    Klaus

Comment

Thanks Klaus,

So I have a Technische Truppen jacket.

Phil

Comment

Phil,

These things are never as straight forward as they seem. I aksed a question recntly that is related to yours and the answer is found here. http://dev.wehrmacht-awards.com/foru...d.php?t=428723

If your moleskin jacket has a badge of some kind on it that is directly related to medical troops or technical troops that makes life much easier. Without that, it is up to you decided what sort of unit the tunic belonged to.

Confused yet?

Regards,

Gordon

Comment

I think "Technische Truppen" is the wrong term.

It means Logistiktruppen and includes Transportation, repair and supply units.

Comment

I agree with Gordon that it could be tough to tell what sort of blue you have without something to directly compare against. The other one that can be quite difficult to differentiate is Flugabwehrtruppe and Artillerie. Exposure to sunlight certainly doesn't help any!

Steve

Comment

Hi hoover:

It means Logistiktruppen ...