Researching Ops

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Researching Ops

Hello. My name is Amber Drews. I'm new to your discussion group but was very impressed by your website and posts from a historical viewpoint.

We have recently found some handwritten notes that my father made concerning my grandfather, as well as some notes (in German, very difficult to read handwriting) in which my Opa had written responses to questions. Some of the notes are intriguing, and I was wondering if any of you might be able to help me sort out this part of our family history (both my father and Opa have passed away, and Oma won't discuss anything about that period of time).

I have contacted the Bundesarchive (no response yet), and done a fair amount of research, but have several questions I was hoping you might help with.

(1) My grandfather wrote that he was awarded the EK1. I don't know how to verify this claim - are there any databases that you could recommend to search for either an EK 1 or EK 2 awarded to him?

(2) My uncle had always said he was in an SS unit - in the paperwork, it lists specifically "Der Furher", "Das Reich" and "Polizei Division (?TITO?)" - I haven't had any luck confirming this information - again, could you recommend any resources?

(3) How would I find his rank out? We think he was enlisted, but have no references to rank.

Personal details:

Karl Frederick Drews
    Born: 13 Dec. 1904 (I think in Turza?)
    Died: 8 Sept 1992 in Naples, Fl. USA

His father's name:
    Carl Ferdinand Drews (1829-1920)

These are additional notes that were in the papers we found (forgive any spelling errors, please, handwritten notes):

"Petersburg Nov 1941 - Mosha, Charkow, Wolchow, Petersberg" -
    "Flak ost"- "Der Furher"
    "Latvia, Goldinger(sp?) Christmas '41"
    "Wolchow May '42-Sept '42"
    "Merginghauser Sept '42"
    "unit was moved to Bordeaux Jan '42"
    "they were outfitted to go to Africa but cancelled"