Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question on size markings

Hi all,

Although I have a few quality tunics in my two year old collection, I am the first to admit I am still a novice. So please assist in my education process by helping me to better understand the size numbers inside the tunic.

What I have understood so far is that there were 5 numbers. These numbers represented metric measurements for length of rear seam, overall tunic length, chest size, collar size, and lastly length of the arm. And I believe they were typically listed in that order from top left to bottom right.

If I am correct so far, than my questions are, would these numbers ever be wrong or could we use them as a guide to check originality? Also would these numbers change if the tunic was modified? By modified I don't mean just an alteration for a better fit. I mean a major modification. For example, would a greatcoat ever be turned into a tunic and if so would it have been restamped before being issued again.

Thanks in advance for your replies.

John Klein

XX   YY
      ZZ
    VV   NN

XX = the length of the tunic back
    YY = the tunic collar size
    ZZ = the tunic chest size
    VV = the overall tunic length
    NN = the sleeve length

Comment

Size markings

Hi BNZ 42, thanks for the illustration. I am hoping someone is still able to answer my questions as well. But this illustration also brings up another question... are the stamps always in the order or location shown in his illustration?

John Klein

Comment

Originally posted by JOHNK
        Hi all,

Although I have a few quality tunics in my two year old collection, I am the first to admit I am still a novice. So please assist in my education process by helping me to better understand the size numbers inside the tunic.